Thursday, August 06, 2009

The Feminist Scorecard -I

Lately the blogs are all abuzz with how women are better than men.

Or not.

So in this new series, I thought I'd take a look at all the areas where women claim to be better than men. And what better place to start with than the Nobel Prize?

The Nobel Prize has been awarded since 1901, and is always given to outstanding achievements in the fields of Chemistry, Physiology/Medicine, Physics, Literature and Peace. There is also an associated prize, The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. Instituted by Sweden's central bank in 1968, this was first awarded in 1969. With the sole exception of the Peace category, all the major contending categories are male-dominated.

Since 1901, there have been 754 male Nobel Prize winners and 35 female ones. ( 35 wimmen in a century, with many years having no female nominee at all. The numbers speak for themselves.

Maybe they'll get round to it next time.


No comments: